MyKitchenInHalfCups

Once Upon a time: Cooking … Baking … Traveling … Laughing …

BBB ~ Anadama Bread

Leave a comment

Ah, the holidays.  I hope yours were grand and you’ve welcomed in a fabulous new year.  I have … but boy of boy did I ever swamp myself out.  Now, with a grand heavy chest cold, I maybe getting my head out.

Visiting grand children is absolutely the best.  We’ve gotten to spend time with all four of ours now.  But, trust me travel and baking BBB breads is always problematic … Then throw in “Mom, could you make Gingerbread Houses with the kids this year.”

Well, I did get the Anadama Bread baked, the gingerbread houses baked and decorated … I got it all done … except for the posting.

I’ve posted our lovely kitchen of the month Pat’s recipe pretty much as she put it up.  I used flour that was on hand which was whole wheat and AP.  Using the whole wheat gave me an even denser loaf that everybody else got BUT it gave me a wonderful loaf we all enjoyed tremendously.  I didn’t have all the seeds Pat shows in the recipe but I’ve left them as she had them as I think they will be excellent when I bake this again and have those seeds.  That being said, I think if you just use the seeds you have on hand (probably those are the ones you like) you’ll be very happy with the results.

There was no molasses so I used honey.  I’ll use molasses next time as Gorn & I are both fans.

Perhaps I’m an odd ball but I found this to be an excellent bread through the holidays…well, at least while it lasted.

IMG_0173

BBB ~ Anadama Bread

Recipe From: Pat “Feeding My Enthusiasms” who found it in Bon Appetit magazine, March, 2015
Yield: 1 loaf

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature, plus more for the pan
1 – 1/4 oz. envelope active dry yeast (about 2 1/4 tsp.)
1 cup stone ground medium cornmeal
1/4 cup mild-flavored molasses
2 tablespoons help seeds or white sesame seeds
1 tablespoon nigella seeds or black sesame seeds
2 teaspoons golden flaxseed
2 teaspoons brown flaxseed
2 teaspoons poppy seeds
1 1/4 teaspoons kosher salt
2 cups all-purpose flour – white whole wheat, plus more for kneading, etc.
1 large egg, beaten to blend
Salted butter, for serving

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Lightly butter an 8″ x 4″ loaf pan and line with parchment paper, leaving a generous overhang. (I skipped the parchment and baked the bread in a narrower and longer pan with no sticking.)

And in the middle of it all was Gingerbread House Baking.  This recipe was from a very old Time-Life series of cookbooks (about 1970’s).  One house took baking the recipe 3 times; that was three sheet pans.  You do the math.  How many times did we bake for three houses?

2. I am a rebel: guilty.  If it was wet, I put it in the large measuring cup.  If it was dry, I put it in the mixing bowl.  Mix with a wooden spoon until the dough was too stiff and then kneaded.

3. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until the dough is smooth and elastic, 10-15 minutes OR mix in stand mixer on medium speed 8-10 minutes.

4. Lightly butter a medium bowl. Transfer dough to bowl and turn to coat. (Elizabeth might skip the butter part.) Cover with plastic wrap or shower cap and let rise in warm, draft-free spot until almost doubled in size, about 1 hour.

5. Punch down dough to deflate; cover. Let rise again until about doubled in size, about 1 hour.

IMG_0191
6. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and pat into and 8′ x 4′ rectangle. Starting at the short side furthest from you, roll up dough, pinching the seam as you go to create a tight roll. Pinch seam to close and tuck ends under, pinching to seal. Place seam side down in the prepared loaf pan. Cover with plastic and let dough rise. Uncover before it crests the top of the pan and wait for it to spring back slightly when pressed, about 1 hour.

7. Brush top of dough with egg. Bake, rotating halfway through, until bread is baked through and the top is a deep golden brown, 45-50 minutes. Let cool slightly in the pan on a wire rack before turning out. Let cool on the rack before slicing (if you can wait that long). Serve with salted butter.

IMG_0190

8. Bread can be made 5 days ahead. Store tightly wrapped at room temperature.
IMG_0192

And for a final word before I post this month’s bread … yikes in just 2 days …  I least I have a fair chance of posting on time this month.  My final suggestion is you don’t miss Pat’s post where she shows off where each one of our breads she baked this year!  It’s a very fun trip.  We look really good.

Author: MyKitchenInHalfCups

Love baking bread Love travel Bread Baking Babe (group)

Leave a Reply

